Thanksgiving Report

Happy Thanksgiving! (A little late) Did you have lots of yummy food? Being a vegetarian, I love the holidays because I get to basically skip dinner and just head straight to the pie. Well, at least that’s my excuse.

 

So, amongst the lovely food I was in charge of two things: spiked cider and peanut butter pie.

 

The cider was super yummy, but really sweet (and had QUITE the punch!). The pie was my first try at a no-bake pie, and let me tell you, I am a fan. It was soooooooo easy and super easy.

 

Spiked Cider
From All Recipes.com

  • 1 quart water
  • 3 orange spice tea bags
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 cups apple cider
  • 1 1/2 cups light rum
  • 8 cinnamon sticks

I opted not to use the stove for this as called in the recipe. I also left out the butter because it was just fine without it. Dump everything in a crock pot and turn on to low, and bump it up if it doesn’t heat up. You don’t want to cook off the alcohol, but you don’t want it to take eight hours for it to heat up either. Once it is to the right taste, remove the cinnamon sticks and tea bags. To make it extra yummy I used locally produced organic cider.

 

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie
Adjust From AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 (16 ounce) package frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 2 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crusts
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 10 mini peanut butter cups, chopped

Directions

  1. Beat together cream cheese and confectioners’ sugar. Mix in peanut butter and milk. Beat until smooth. Fold in whipped topping.Set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, melt chocolate and split evenly and spread on the bottom of graham cracker crusts
  3. Spoon peanut butter mixture into two 9 inch graham cracker pie shells; cover, and freeze until firm.

 

I added in the chocolate elements because chocolate needs to go with peanut butter, but you can make it an all peanut butter pie if you’d like. I had the peanut butter cups sitting around and I also had some left over whipped topping so I piped it on top for decoration. Oh, and it’s important to note, this makes TWO pies. Glad I bought an extra crust or I’d have had to make another trip to the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

