Add this one to the que

New muffin recipe! My friend, Russ, once said how much he loved Morning Glory muffins. I saw a recipe the other day, so I decided to try them AND THEY ARE AWESOME!!! Seriously, it uses a little of everything that you probably already have on hand and makes this moist, totally yummy muffin. I made 18 and they are already gone.

 

As I’ve been whining about, it’s also been super cold here. Not good for someone who lived in Florida for the past six years. So Monday, after the weather guy on television told me to dress for -10, I rediscovered my leg warmers my dear friend Nash gave me for my birthday last year.

 

Totally hot, right? But they are WARM, and they have lime green in them! Perfect! Don’t worry, I wore them under my boots, so unless you were looking own into the boots, you couldn’t really tell. Can you imagine the looks at work if I wore them as is? That would be hilarious!

 

I also just ordered my first real winter coat. You like? It took me forever to find one that I liked AND that I could find in my size. I wanted something girl, but super warm, and nice enough I could wear it to work and not look unprofessional. I had to get black since that was the only color left in my size.

 

Okay, back to under the super warm covers for me!

 

Recipe for Morning Glory Muffins II from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups grated carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups peeled and grated apple
  • 3/4 cup flaked coconut
  • 1/2 cup dates, pitted and chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly oil 18 muffin cups, or coat with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.
  3. In a second bowl, combine carrots, apples, coconut, dates and pecans. Stir in eggs, oil and vanilla. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients; stir until smooth.
  4. Spoon or scoop the batter into the prepared muffin pans. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 18 to 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.
One thought on “Add this one to the que

Leave a Reply

