Sometimes you fail

I post lots of photos of all the yummy, delicious things I make. But sometimes one needs to be taken down a notch and post a fail. Case in point? Granola.

 

So, not long ago I got it in my head that I was going to make my very own granola so I could have yummy cereal, and a sweet and crunchy treat for my yogurt. So, I googled “make your own granola” and found this recipe over at Food Network. Easy to make, for sure!

 

So yesterday I was at home with a sick kiddo, and said, I can whip this up, put it in the oven and get some work done while it bakes! An excellent idea! Except I have dark pans. And what calls for over an hour of baking, I soon found should only have been about 30 minutes. 😦

 

 

I quickly pulled my granola gold out of the oven in hopes of saving it. It LOOKED okay, but when I tried eating a bowl of it, my yummy granola was a smokey pile of not-so-yummy goodness. I was so bummed.

 

That’s kinda how my day went. I LOOKED okay, but really was bummed on the inside. We all have days like that. I blame the recent reemergence of snow.

 

On the upside, I received in the mail today my coconut oil! I’ve seen a couple of recipes that call for it, and as I get more health-nutty as I age, am excited about all the health benefits and uses as well. Anyone have any great recipes/uses for coconut oil?

Leave a Reply

