Tortilla!

So, I’ve become a fan of a lot of blogs lately, including Heavenly Homemakers. In her blog, she talks about ‘soaking’ grains. This always intrigued me, and as I become more and more obsessed with healthy foods and making things from scratch, I wanted more and more to try this. But, I was a little intimidated. I really hate screwing something up and wasting all that food.

Then, the other day I found a recipe for making your own whole wheat tortillas AND it included in the recipe to use coconut oil (like the kind I got the other day…) so I went for it! Thanks Kitchen Stewardship!

So, in the morning I made my dough and tonight I cooked them up. First, you get your exercise with these! It’s a lot of work rolling these suckers super thin! I don’t have an electric griddle or a cast iron skillet (although I want both) so I just used a frying pan. It took a couple of trys to get the temperature correct. Well, I think it is correct. I got the brown spots, but it didn’t look like it was all the way cooked all over, but I didn’t want a tortilla cracker either! Of course I can’t remember having a whole wheat tortillas EVER, so maybe I just don’t know what it really looks like?

Here’s the result:

I’m hoping to use these for breakfast tomorrow for some breakfast burritos. I guess we’ll find out then how they taste. Anyone else ever make their own tortillas? Thoughts?

I’ll tell you what, a good baker is a talent. Muffins, they’re easy, but breads haunt me. They’re so finicky!

Toodles,

Emily

4 thoughts on “Tortilla!

  1. Pingback: Burrrrrrito! | Cap City Lady

Leave a Reply

