Confetti!

So, I looked in my fridge and realized I get a bag of potatoes or sweet potatoes every single time I go to the store, and just had a TON of potatoes to use up, so what to do? Make my Confetti Potato Salad of course! I made this up, but it’s my absolute favorite! Hmmm…On a side note, real confetti is one of my least favorite things.  It’s fun, but what a pain to clean up, and it is like glitter – it never fully goes away.

Anyways, back to our story…

Emily’s Confetti Potato Salad

Ingredients

  • 2 potatoes
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 c. mayonaise
  • 1/2 c. sour cream
  • 2 Tbs. mustard (yellow or dijon)
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • 1/4 c. sweet relish
  • 3 Tbs. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3-4 hard boiled eggs, chopped

Directions

  1. 1. Peel and chop sweet potatoes and boil in a large pan with a pinch of salt. While boiling, peel and chop regular potatoes and add to same pot until both are cooked but not mushy – about 20 minutes.
  2. 2. While potatoes are cooking, combine in a large bowl mayonaise, sour cream, mustard, celery, onion, relish, sugar, garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper.
  3. 3. Cool cooked potatoes slightly and then toss with dressing.
  4. 4. Chop and gently fold in egg. Cover and refrigerate for 2-3 hours or until serving.

Since I was cooking up cubes of potatoes anyways, I boiled event more, and kept some to mash up for mashed potatoes. I haven’t decided if I am going to eat as is or use it in a casserole.

Leave a Reply

